About PPA   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Bowl of Hygeia Award

Sponsored by the American Pharmacists Association Foundation and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations with support from Boehringer-Ingelheim

This award, which is part of a national awards program sponsored by the APhA Foundation and NASPA, is granted to recognize and honor a Pennsylvania pharmacist who has demonstrated sustained commitment to community service, apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, which reflects well on the profession of pharmacy.

Specific Award Eligibility

Nominee must not be currently serving or have served in the last two (2) years as a member of PPA's Awards Committee, an elected PPA officer or a paid employee of PPA
Nominee must be living; awards are not presented posthumously
Nominee must not be a past recipient of the award

This Year's Recipient

Gayle Cotchen, BSPharm, MBA, PharmD

Gayle Cotchen, BSPharm, MBA, PharmD graduated from Duquense University with her bachelor degree in pharmacy in 1976, and began her career as a retail pharmacist at Thrift Drug Store in 1981.  Throughout her career, she has excelled in many roles, including Manager of Pharmacy Compliance, Pharmacy Director, and most recently, Lead Pharmacist at Magee-Womens Hospital of Pittsburgh Medical Center. She is extremely active with professional activities and currently serves as the Institutional Member on the Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy.


Her professional accomplishments are clear, what separates her from many others is her volunteer work with the Pittsburgh Action Against Rape, one of the oldest rape crisis centers in the United States.  When a victim of rape is seen in the emergency room, she is on call and goes to the hospital for the victim.  She then meets with the victim to provide both support and information; investing her emotional and mental strength to rape victims. 

Past Recipients

2015  Thomas Mattei, PharmD
1988  Ralph R. Kartub, RPh
2014 Julie Gerhart-Rothholz, RPh, MS
1987 William J. Pronzato, RPh
2013 Edward J. Bechtel, RPh 1986 John Rosencrance, RPh
2012 Richard R. Smiga, RPh 1985 Ronald S. Nighswander, RPh
2011 Robert S. Schreiber, RPh 1984 Sidney H. Brown, RPh
2010 Michele Catalano - Musheno, RPh 1983 John E. Gillespie, RPh
2009 Rosemarie Halt, RPh 1982 Pauline R. Montgomery, RPh
2008 Coleen Kayden, RPh 1981 Richard T. Englehart, RPh
2007 David Smith, RPh 1980 Alan J. Vogenberg, RPh
2006 Theresa Talbott, RPh 1979 Charles D. Ditchfield, RPh
2005 Frank Rubino, RPh 1978 Irwin Reich, RPh
2004 Ida May Englehart, RPh 1977 David M. King, RPh
2003 David W. Leach, RPh 1976 Daniel A. Hussar, RPh
2002 Samuel D. Brog, RPh. 1975 George S. Maggio, RPh
2001 Robert J. Bylone, RPh 1974 Carmen A. DiCello, RPh
2000 John C. Zweier, RPh 1973 David P. Rosenfield, RPh
1999 William T. Ferri, RPh 1972 LaRue Lunger, RPh
1998 Robert F. Hennessy, RPh 1971 James B. Leedy, RPh
1997 Bruce D. Martin. RPh 1970 Charles L. Sellars, RPh
1996 Bruce S. Sigman, RPh 1969 Philip Seltzer, RPh
1995 Barry P. Jacobs, RPh 1968 Reynold R. Clouse, RPh
1994 Joseph G. Bechtel, RPh 1967 Bernard Jay Schiller, RPh
1993 James E. Hancock, RPh 1966 Henry E.G. Burhenn, RPh
1992 Bernard Corchnoy, RPh 1965 Roger H. Shultz, RPh
1991 Frank C. Falchek, RPh 1964 Webster B. Canning, RPh
1990 Joseph A. Mosso, RPh 1963 Edwin Symonds Rowse, Jr., RPh
1989 William L. Greene, RPh 1962 Lester Saylor, RPh


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal