About PPA   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Companies “Distinguished Young Pharmacist” Award

Recognizes new pharmacists for their dedication to and participation in PPA, commitment to the practice of pharmacy, and involvement in community activities.

Minimum selection criteria:

Licensed to practice for nine years or less.
Practiced retail, institutional, or consulting pharmacy in the year selected.
Participated in national pharmacy association(s), professional programs, PPA activities and/or community service

This Year's Recipient

Brandon Antinopoulos, PharmD



Brandon is a 2014 graduate of The University of Pittsburgh and then completed a unique PGY1 Community Pharmacy Practice Residency with the University of Pittsburgh and PPA where he worked to establish key components of the Pennsylvania Pharmacist Care Network.


He has also been an active member of the Allegheny County Pharmacists Association and was recently installed as President.  He has been highly influential in encouraging his colleagues especially newer practitioners to join him as an ACPA Board Member to ensure a healthy, active County Association.


Beyond his Association work, you will find Brandon working to create the neighborhood pharmacy he has envisioned since originally applying to pharmacy school.  Because his community of Brighton, PA has been significantly impacted by the opioid epidemic, he has led the pharmacy’s efforts in working with local law enforcement and community groups to ensure that Naloxone is available to those who can utilize it in the community.  He serves on a county task force looking for ways to impact this epidemic in his community.


Past Recipients

Karleen Melody, PharmD, BCPS
 Nicholas Leon, PharmD, BCPS, BCACP
2013  Stephanie Harriman McGrath, PharmD
2012  Jamie L. McConaha, PharmD
2011  Adam C. Welch, PharmD
2010  Maria Osborne, PharmD
2009  Vince Hartzell, PharmD
2008  Julie Olenak, PharmD
2007  Melissa Sherer Krause, PharmD
2006  Melissa Somma McGivney, PharmD
2005  Jamie Holowka, PharmD
2004  Sherri Lee, RPh
2003  George Haynes, PhD, PharmD
2002  Robert Maher, Jr., RPh
2001  Daniel J. Vacca, RPh
2000  James V. Reginelli, RPh
1999  Michele Lennox, RPh
1998  Todd R. Schlemmer, RPh
1997  Faithann M. Grigalunas, RPh
1996  Heidi Beichner, RPh
1995  Rocco J. DiMattia, RPh
1994  Robert W. Piavis, Jr., RPh
1993  Michael Schwartz, RPh
1992  Theresa M. Talbott, RPh
1991  David Ostrow, RPh


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal