About PPA   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Excellence in Innovation Award sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc.

Recognizes a pharmacist who is involved in an innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care. The nomination must include a description of the innovative pharmacy practice which would qualify the recipient for this award.

This Year's Recipient

Holly Lassila, BSPharm, MSEd, RPh, DPh, MPH



Holly Lassila’s clinical practice, which is based in behavioral health, is associated with Pittsburgh Mercy Behavioral Health System and Operation Safety Net.  Operating out of the Bethlehem Haven facility, a homeless shelter for women, Holly and her PY4 students provide immunizations, point-of-care screening services, lifestyle recommendations, and medication therapy management/ disease state management services to both shelter residents and walk-ins.  A disease state and lifestyle modification presentation is delivered once weekly during the Wellspring substance abuse recovery group meeting. 


She also accompanies medical residents on the Operation Safety Net medical van, an outreach program that delivers medical care to the homeless population.  This outreach program frequents undeserved neighborhoods in and surrounding the Pittsburgh area.  This is the first-in-the-nation program of its kind – its mission is to meet people where they are.  The pharmacy services that she and her students contribute, offer an added dimension to the improvement of health outcomes for this vulnerable population. 


The recipient further serves as an Associate Professor of pharmacy practice and preceptor for the advanced pharmacy practices experiences for Duquesne University School of Pharmacy.



 Past Recipients

Jamie McConaha, PharmD, CGP, BCACP, CTTS, CDE
Juliana Nowak, RPh, CGP 
2013 Robert Maher Jr., PharmD, CGP
2012 John J. Pavis, RPh
2011 Andrew J. Irons, PharmD
2010 Bethany Miller, RPh
2009 Diane Silverman, RPh
2008 Diane Boomsma, PharmD
2007 Michele Brown, PharmD
2006 John J. Yuscavage, PhD
2005 Not awarded
2004 Bruce S. Sigman, RPh
2003 John Keegan, RPh
2002 Michele Musheno, RPh
2001 Not awarded
2000 Daniel T. Wagner, RPh
1999 Burton Bogdan, RPh
1998 George Strauss, RPh
1997 Not awarded
1996 Richard H. Williams, RPh
1995 James B. Leedy, RPh


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal