About PPA   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
J. Allen Duffield Pharmaceutical Industry Award

This award is presented to an individual, who works in the pharmaceutical or other pharmacy related industry in recognition of their service to PPA. This award may be presented to a pharmacist or a non-pharmacist.

This Year's Recipient

Patrick Lavella, RPh

Patrick Lavella, RPh is a 1985 graduate of the University of Pittsburgh and has worked tirelessly for the good of community pharmacy since then. Having operated multiple pharmacies in the Pittsburgh area, he has a deep knowledge of the business and specifically the challenges of the industry. Currently a PPA Board Member, he is continuing his drive to keep community pharmacy relevant and thriving across may different disciplines. He has been a champion of assisting pharmacists in fulfilling the requirements of the Controlled Substances Act, while contributing significantly to reducing diversion of controlled substances.


*In 2007, the J. Allen Duffield and the Pharmaceutical Industry Award were combined into one award.

Past Recipients

 J. Allen Duffield Award Pharmaceutical Industry Award
 2017  Mel Brodsky, RPh
 2016  John DeJames, RPh
 Julie Gerhart- Rothholz, RPh, MS
 2014  Calvin Shipley
 2013  Robert Killoran, RPh
 2012  Edward W. Casey, RPh
 2011  Gregory Drew, RPh
 2010  Al Emmans
 J. Allen Duffield Award  Pharmaceutical Industry Award
2006  Not Awarded  2006  Larry Doud
2005  Gregory K. Shaeffer, RPh, MBA, FASHP  2005  Not Awarded
2004  Joseph Brennan  2004  Roger Boatwright
2003  Calvin Shipley  2003  Bruce Kneeland
2002  Carmen A. DiCello, RPh  2002  Sean Lynch
2001  Roger Boatwright  2001  Morley A. Cohn, RPh
2000  Larry Doud  2000  Calvin L. Shipley
1999  Ann Fettro  1999  John L. Letizia
1998  William LaGamba  1998  Not Awarded
1997  J. Scott Weaver  1997  Not Awarded
1996  Robert J. Valeriano  1996  Ruth Dailey
1995  Norman W. Meidling  1995  J. Howard Garrett, RPh
1994  Ruth H. Dailey  1994  Not Awarded
1993  Sean M. Lynch  1993  Robert M. McGowan, RPh
1992  Richard McIntyre  1992  Robert J. Bimeal, RPh
1991  Richard T. Englehart, RPh
1990  Not Awarded
1989  Paul Lamont
1988  P.L. Hawbecker
1987  N.E. “Monty” Monticelli
1986  E. Gregory Hiester
1985  Calvin L. Shipley
1984  Michael J. Hickey
1983  William Kraft
1982  George Searight
1981  James Maurer
1980  Jerry Smith
1979  Seth Bucklen
1978  William Hensel
1977  Arnold Lazarus
1976  Joseph Nimenthy
1975  Joseph Caputo
1974  George Fellows
1973  J. Allen Duffield


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal