About PPA   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Excellence in Innovation Award sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc.

Recognizes a pharmacist who is involved in an innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care. The nomination must include a description of the innovative pharmacy practice which would qualify the recipient for this award.

This Year's Recipient

Sandra Kane-Gill, PharmD, MS, FCCM, FCCP


Sandra Kane-Gill, PharmD, MS, FCCM, FCCP, received her BS Pharm from Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan, completed a pharmacy practice residency at West Virginia University Hospital in Morgantown, West Virginia and her doctorate in pharmacy from the University of Toledo in Toledo, Ohio.  She also has a Master of Science degree in Pharmacy Administration from The Ohio State University. She is currently a Professor of Pharmacy and Therapeutics at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy. Dr. Kane-Gill has committed her career to medication error and adverse drug event prevention and used technology to advance the field of medication safety. She has deployed high-fidelity simulation to reduce medication administration errors by 25% in the intensive care unit and use of advanced clinical decision support to enhance alert performance and reduce alert fatigue. Dr. Kane-Gill is the first pharmacist in the country to use a new biomarker called Nephrocheck in clinical practice for the early identification of kidney stress to prevent drug associated acute kidney injury. In fact, as a result of her international reputation in safe medication use, she authored the first ever guidelines on safe medication use in the intensive care unit in Critical Care Medicine and are used to shape practice internationally.


 Past Recipients

2018  Lindsey Meston, PharmD 
2017 Melissa Somma McGivney, PharmD, FCCP, FAPhA
2016 Holly Lassila, BSPharm, MSEd, RPh, DPh, MPH
Jamie McConaha, PharmD, CGP, BCACP, CTTS, CDE
Juliana Nowak, RPh, CGP 
2013 Robert Maher Jr., PharmD, CGP
2012 John J. Pavis, RPh
2011 Andrew J. Irons, PharmD
2010 Bethany Miller, RPh
2009 Diane Silverman, RPh
2008 Diane Boomsma, PharmD
2007 Michele Brown, PharmD
2006 John J. Yuscavage, PhD
2005 Not awarded
2004 Bruce S. Sigman, RPh
2003 John Keegan, RPh
2002 Michele Musheno, RPh
2001 Not awarded
2000 Daniel T. Wagner, RPh
1999 Burton Bogdan, RPh
1998 George Strauss, RPh
1997 Not awarded
1996 Richard H. Williams, RPh
1995 James B. Leedy, RPh


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal