About PPA   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Awards Program

In recognition of our members’ achievements and involvement, PPA presents several prestigious awards to deserving members each year. A Call for Nominations for these awards is announced in late winter/early spring. The recipients are usually selected in early summer and the awards are presented during the PPA Annual Conference Leadership & Awards Dinner.

2020 Deadline - June 1,2020

Click here for the complete listing of 2020 Awards.

Click here for the 2020 Award Nomination Form.


Students click here for the PPA APPE Preceptor of the Year Nomination Form.



Award Categories:


Bowl of Hygeia Award sponsored by the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA) with support from Boehringer-Ingelheim

Granted to recognize and honor a Pennsylvania pharmacist who has demonstrated sustained commitment to community service, apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, which reflects well on the profession of pharmacy.

PPA Mortar and Pestle Award*

This award is one of special recognition presented solely at the discretion of the PPA Board of Directors which recognizes service to the pharmacy profession and PPA.

PPA Pharmacist of the Year Award

Presented to a pharmacist who has demonstrated dedication to the profession of pharmacy, contributed time and effort to the various professional organizations, furthered the profession of pharmacy through community service and embodied those qualities of attitude and leadership which exemplified the profession.

Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Companies “Distinguished Young Pharmacist” Award

Recognizes a new pharmacist for their dedication to and participation in PPA, commitment to the practice of pharmacy, and involvement in community activities.

NASPA Excellence in Innovation Award sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc.

Recognizes a pharmacist who is involved in an innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care.

PPA Preceptor of the Year Award

Recognizes a preceptor who demonstrates outstanding interaction, knowledge sharing, and is generally an exceptional pharmacy role model for students.

Cardinal Health Generation Rx Champions Award sponsored by the Cardinal Health Foundation

This award is no longer being presented.  Please click on the link to see past award recipients.

George S. Maggio Memorial Award

Presented to the pharmacist who has contributed the most to pharmacy in Pennsylvania through his/her work in legislative activities and advocacy.

George H. Searight Community Service Award*

Presented to an individual who has shown outstanding devotion and service to PPA, and his/her own county or local association, and for outstanding community service which has enhanced the image of the profession of pharmacy within his/her community.

J. Allen Duffield Pharmaceutical Industry Award*

Presented to an individual who is associated with the pharmaceutical industry or other pharmacy associated/related business or service, who has contributed time, effort, commitment, and supported and participated in the activities and programs of PPA and who has, through his/her affiliation with the company and industry he/she represents, contributed to the betterment of the profession of pharmacy.

PPA Pharmacy Technician of the Year Award*

Presented to an individual who has at least 2 years of experience working as a pharmacy technician in any pharmacy setting, who has demonstrated a professional attitude at their place of employment, and who has shown leadership in the training of their technicians in their practice settings.

Pauline Montgomery Leadership Award sponsored by Value Drug Company

Presented to a female independent owner, manager, or employee of an independent pharmacy who is part of Value Drug Company and who demonstrates leadership in all of the following areas: pharmacy, politics/advocacy, and community.

PPA Legislator of the Year Award*

Presented at the sole discretion of the PPA Board of Directors to an elected member of the Pennsylvania legislature who has demonstrated legislative leadership and support of the pharmacy profession.

Ten Under Ten Awards

Recognizes the top ten pharmacists practicing for less than ten years that demonstrate commitment to advancing the profession, involvement in PPA and other pharmacy associations, and/or service to their community.  Individuals must have graduated in 2010 and up to be considered for this award.

Award to next be presented in 2020.

*these awards may also be presented to a non-pharmacist


Student Awards:


Outstanding Pharmacy Student Awards


Honor and recognize students who have been most active in pharmacy organizations during his/her academic years. Recipients are selected by their school's faculty or student awards committee.


Membership and Involvement Award

Government Relations and Advocacy Award

Public Awareness and Communication Award

Honor schools of pharmacy which display excellence and achievement in the areas of membership, government relations and public awareness. Interested schools must complete applications for consideration.



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal